Help for Tune Smithy Koch snowflake icon.gif

Help:Deleting a page

From Tune Smithy

Jump to: navigation, search
{{#ifexist: Template:PD Help Page/Deleting a page|Template:PD Help Page/Deleting a page|
PD
Important note: When you edit this page, you agree to release your contribution into the public domain. If you don't want this or can't do this because of license restrictions, please don't edit. This page is one of the Public Domain Help Pages, which can be freely copied into fresh wiki installations and/or distributed with MediaWiki software; see Help:Contents for an overview of all pages.

}}


Contents

When to delete a page :

Typically you would delete a page if the contents are entirely inappropriate, and do not match the purposes of the wiki. In other situations you might prefer a less extreme course of action, for example...

So in fact a straightforward delete is generally only necessary if the title of the page is inappropriate. In other situations, a merge and redirect is more appropriate.

Proposing changes

Deciding on appropriate content/page titles can be a difficult aspect of wiki organization, and one which can often provoke debates. If the merge or deletion you have in mind, is one which might cause upset, you should propose the change first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page. You might also establish a system for labeling the page itself, with a delete/merge proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions

Unlinking a page

If a page is no longer of any value, then you won't have any links pointing to it right? Well you might be surprised. The 'What links here' toolbox feature (bottom left) will tell you which other wiki pages link in to the current page. Always use this feature to check before proceeding with deleting. These related pages will need to be edited, to reflect the change.

Deletion itself

Normal users cannot permanently delete a wiki page. This is an entirely deliberate design feature, which is an important part of why wikis work. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content. Try not to let it wind you up too much. It doesn't cause significant wasted space, and with nothing but a 'delete' label the page is effectively deleted anyway.

'Sysop' users are able to delete a page semi-permanently. See Help:Sysop deleting and undeleting. Typically sysops might look for delete labels, and do a proper delete on these pages, after a period of time. If for some reason you need a page to be deleted more quickly than that, you will need to contact a sysop to request this.

See also

Template:Help/Category

Personal tools
Namespaces
Variants
Actions
Navigation
How to use the wiki
More
Toolbox