robertinventor.com

Tune Smithy => How do I? => Topic started by: Elve on June 13, 2010, 08:41:05 AM

Forum for Tune Smithy, Bounce Metronome and other software from Robert Inventor

Title: How do I export an individual part as MIDI
Post by: Elve on June 13, 2010, 08:41:05 AM
Ok, I have a song which contains 5 parts. How do i export, say, part 3 as MIDI? Muting the other parts didn't help, the MIDI file played all parts.


Title: Re: How do I export an individual part as MIDI
Post by: Robert Walker on June 13, 2010, 02:13:02 PM
Okay, this sounds like a bug, it's not supposed to do that!

Muting the other parts was the right thing to do - and the midi file should record the same sounds you hear when you play the tune in Tune Smithy.

Which Tune Smithy task are you using? Is this a fractal tune, or a retuned midi recording for instance? Can you say a bit more about what you are doing?

QUICKEST THING IS TO SEND ME A BUG REPORT TSPROJ

The quickest way to sort it out is to send me a bug report project.

What this does is to let me set up Tune Smithy here to exactly match (near enough) the way you have it on your computer. It's then much easier for you to explain what happens, and for me to duplicate it here.

You do that from the Help menu. If it works for you, you can just use the option to e-mail one to me - but that won't work if you use web mail as many people do nowadays.

So - the other way to do it is to go to More in the Help menu twice until you see the option "Save as project for Tune Smithy Support".

(For that matter you can just use the option to save a project in the File menu - the thing is the support tsProj includes some extra computer specific information e.g. your current list of midi devices in the Out menu etc, which sometimes helps with some bug reports).

Send that to one of my e-mail addresses such as support@robertinventor.com and add to your email as much information as you can think of that may be relevant or help to reproduce the bug.

If I need any other files to duplicate the bug, e.g. midi files, then I'll need to see those as well.

Oh, as a temporary work around you may find that it works to select Silence for the other parts - which you can do from the Instruments menu (Ctrl + 8) - but that is obviously not that good a solution as you need to keep a note of the instruments in the parts before you silence them - and reselect them when you are finished so much more clumsy.

Thanks,



Robert


Title: Re: How do I export an individual part as MIDI
Post by: Elve on June 16, 2010, 06:52:30 AM
Silencing the other parts method is OK,  I don't use export too often. Thanks for the reply.


Title: Re: How do I export an individual part as MIDI
Post by: Robert Walker on June 16, 2010, 05:43:54 PM
Okay great, glad that the silence parts method worked okay. If you have any other questions be sure to say,

Thanks,

Robert